Select Page

EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum has been recognised as one of Europe’s Leading Tourist Attractions for 2019 in the World Travel Awards.

You can help us win. Click on the button below to vote.We have been shortlisted against London’s Buckingham Palace, Barcelona’s Sagrada Família, Portugal’s Ribeira do Porto and the Roman Colosseum for the Awards which celebrate excellence across all sectors of the travel, tourism and hospitality industries. We are the only visitor attraction or Museum in Dublin to be included in this year’s awards.

EPIC now has the opportunity to join the list of winners which includes the Eiffel Tower, the Acropolis in Athens and the London Eye. Previous Irish winners of the Award include Spike Island, the Guinness Storehouse and Titanic Belfast.

EPIC is nominated for Europe’s Leading Tourist Attraction 2019 alongside:

  • Acropolis, Athens, Greece
  • Buckingham Palace, England
  • Cálem Wine Celllars
  • Castle In Love with the Wind, Bulgaria
  • Cycling through Water – Fietsen door het Water
  • Dark Sky Alqueva, Portugal and Spain
  • Passadiços do Paiva (Arouca UNESCO Global Geopark), Portugal
  • Ribeira do Porto, Portugal
  • Sagrada Família, Spain
  • The Eiffel Tower, France
  • The Roman Colosseum, Italy

We would also like to congratulate the other Irish nominees in this year’s awards.

  • Cliffs of Moher Visitor Experience
  • Spike Island, Ireland

Josepha Madigan, Minister for Culture, Heritage & Gaeltacht has sent her congratulations: “I’m delighted to see EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum being recognised as one of Europe’s leading tourist attractions. Their showcase of Irish Culture and how it has impacted on the world, coupled with the ways the Irish diaspora have celebrated their heritage have inspired thousands of visitors and sparked hundreds of conversations around the world. EPIC’s inclusion in these Awards is a further boost for Ireland’s reputation for sharing its culture with anyone who wishes to participate. I wish them the best of luck.”

Ciaran Cannon, Minister for the Diaspora and International Development has said:
“I’m delighted to see EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum being recognised as one of Europe’s leading tourist attractions. The stories of adventure, triumph and indeed sorrow it showcases from the Irish diaspora as well as its celebration of those of Irish heritage abroad are world class and its inclusion in these Awards is a further boost for Dublin and Ireland’s reputation for great experiences. I wish them the best of luck.”

Niall Gibbons, Tourism Ireland CEO has sent his best wishes:
“Congratulations to EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum on being nominated for this prestigious award, one of the highest accolades in the travel and tourism industry worldwide. Since opening its doors in 2016, EPIC has established itself as an important attraction on the itineraries of international visitors to Dublin. Tourism Ireland looks forward to working closely with the team in EPIC in 2019, to welcome many more international visitors coming to experience all that it, and this great city of Dublin, have to offer.”

















Place your vote here to support EPIC as Europe’s Leading Tourist Attraction. Voting closes 28 April 2019.The World Travel Awards, celebrating their 26th anniversary this year, are renowned as the most prestigious and comprehensive in the global industry. Each year, the World Travel Awards ceremonies are regarded as milestone events in the industry calendar, attended by the industry’s key decision makers and figure heads, as well as key trade and consumer media. The WTA brand is recognised globally as the ultimate hallmark of quality, with winners setting the benchmark to which all others aspire.

The award winners will be announced at the Europe Gala Ceremony on 8 June 2019 in Madeira, Portugal.